There are pros and cons when it comes to living in the Sun City. Great weather, affordable living, delicious and authentic Mexican food, and our proximity to states like New Mexico and Arizona, all fall under the list of benefits. When it comes to the downside of our city, one might think of the lack of skilled jobs, education, places to hang out, bad drivers and of course, the traffic! It’s no surprise that our city experiences as many accidents as we do on a daily basis. We’re all rushing to get to our destination, attempting to avoid traffic, driving past an accident, or if we’re unlucky, getting pulled over for traffic violations.
If you’ve never lived in another state then knowing how driving in Texas compares to states like Florida, California, or even Minnesota can be an eyeopener. State driving regulations severely vary around the country — from strict speeding limits to the ability to interpret violations, and the legal age to get behind the wheel. For example, did you know South Dakota residents can begin driving at 14 years old?
We thought it’d be a good idea to compare Texas’ regulations with that of other states to see whether those traffic violations we’ve received at some point are completely legal in another part of the region.
From Strict to Lenient — Where Does Texas Fall?
When it comes to the list of strictest states on driving, Texas came in at the 51st spot, according to a study by WalletHub, which means we’re the least strict state or district in the nation! Based on this study’s ranking, Texas also came in the last place when it came to enforcing the speed limit. If you’re planning to make your way up east to Delaware, you won’t be so lucky. This state came in at the number one spot with the most reckless penalties given. Not far from Delaware, Virginia was ranked as the strictest state for enforcing the speed limit. The highest cost for a speeding ticket is given in Oregon at approximately $6,250! The lowest average is $100 in states such as Mississippi, Kentucky, New Mexico, and Ohio. When it comes to traffic violations for reckless driving, Texas was among the list of states to give the lowest maximum fines.
Unique Driving Laws Across the Country
Did you know that in California it’s illegal for police to use a speed radar outside of school zones? California, in general, is relaxed when it comes to enforcing speed limits. Another unique law: in Oregon, there exists an optional stop for drivers turning right. Where permitted, there’s a sign directly below the Stop sign that reads “Right turn permitted without stopping” allowing drivers to treat the stop like a yield, as many drivers so often do here in Texas. Parts of Oregon joined the rest of the nation allowing drivers to pump their own gas. Now, New Jersey is the only state where it’s illegal to do so. A unique law in Galveston, Texas is that it is considered illegal to drive down Broadway before noon on Sundays. And one odd final rule for Texas drivers, they must have windshield wipers but a windshield is not required. Well, that’s a bit odd?
For More Interesting Facts on Traffic Violations, Contact the Aaronson Law Firm
As a traffic violations lawyer in El Paso with over 40 years of experience, attorney Michael Aaronson has seen it all! If you recently received a traffic violation we can help you. We’ll also share insight as to how you can protect yourself on and off the road. Give us a call today!