Defending Your Driving Rights, Protecting Your Future.
El Paso DUI/DWI Lawyer
Representing Drivers in El Paso, Hudspeth & Culberson Counties & Beyond
Like every other state, Texas makes it a crime to drink and drive. Under Chapter 49 of the Penal Code, it is unlawful to drive while intoxicated by either alcohol or drugs or a combination of both. This law applies not only to the operation of vehicles but to the operation of watercraft, such as boats or water skis, as well. Being arrested for DWI is a serious matter that can impact your life in numerous ways, from criminal penalties to increased auto insurance, the loss of your license, and a conviction on your criminal record. While many people believe that you have no chance of beating the state’s evidence against you, that is never true. Many aspects of your arrest can be challenged to put a conviction in doubt. However, you will need a savvy and experienced attorney on your side who knows how to fight back.
At Aaronson Law Firm, you can turn to an El Paso DUI/DWI attorney backed by more than 40 years of practice in defending clients of these charges. Our firm knows how vital it is to put an attorney on your case to help you seek optimum results. With our help, you may be able to have charges dropped or reduced or be found not guilty at trial. We know what to look for in uncovering errors and flaws in DUI/DWI cases and will provide 100 percent dedicated effort in defending you.
Request an appointment to consult with our El Paso DUI/DWI defense lawyer at Aaronson Law Firm. Call (915) 265-0848 or contact us online for your free case review. Hablamos español.
Know Your Rights: Do's and Dont's When You Have a WarrantRead More
Weird and Unusual Traffic Laws from Across the USARead More
What Are the Benefits of Having a Clean Driving Record?Read More
Holiday Help: How to Avoid Traffic Convictions in the New YearRead More
Removing Traffic Convictions, Surcharges, and PointsRead More
What To Do After Your License Is SuspendedRead More
How the Aaronson Law Firm Provides to YouRead More
Why You Need to Hire a Criminal Defense AttorneyRead More
DUI vs. DWI in Texas
The terms DUI and DWI are often used interchangeably. However, they refer to different charges related to intoxicated driving. DUI generally refers to underage drivers (below the age of 21) who are found to be driving while intoxicated. These individuals are not allowed to drive with “any detectable amount of alcohol” in their systems under Texas law.
The penalties for this DUI charge, which is a Class C misdemeanor, include:
- A fine ranging from $500 up to $2,000 and/or
- A jail sentence of up to 180 days
- Community service
DWI charges are filed against adult drivers whose blood alcohol concentration measures .08 percent or higher (the legal limit) or who have been stated to be intoxicated by alcohol or drugs by the arresting police officer even if their BAC measured less than .08 percent. Intoxicated means lacking the normal use of your mental or physical abilities.
The penalties for a first-offense DWI, which is charged as a Class B misdemeanor, can include:
- A minimum of 72 hours in jail with a maximum time of 180 days. Drivers found with an open container will face a minimum of six days in jail.
- Fines ranging as high as $2,000.
- A license suspension of 90 days up to a year.
- Alcohol education program.
You may be able to obtain an “occupational license” which is a restricted license; this generally requires installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. Second, third, and subsequent DWI convictions will result in increased penalties. Third DWIs are charged as felonies punishable by two up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
If you are found driving with a minor under the age of 15 or with a BAC of .15 percent or higher, you will also face steeper penalties. DWI with a child passenger is a state jail felony punishable by jail time of 180 days up to two years and a fine of up to $10,000. A first-offense DWI with a BAC of .15 percent or higher carries up to a year in jail with fines of up to $4,000.
Put an experienced El Paso DUI/DWI attorney on your defense. Contact Aaronson Law Firm at (915) 265-0848 to discuss the specifics of your case today.
They took care of everything for me!Alex G.
It was so easy.Manny A.
Confidence in a Challenge
I thrive on the energy and challenge of litigation, and I inspire confidence in those I meet. As your dedicated legal advocate, my goal is a favorable outcome for you and your loved ones. Over four decades of legal experience means that when I say I'll fight for your case, I mean it.
Every single day at Aaronson Law Firm, I put my comprehensive knowledge and experience of traffic law and criminal defense into action. I'm prepared to guide you through your case, making the process as smooth as possible, and making you aware of any speed bumps along the way.
Fill Out the Form Below to Get Started